Avant Foundation Board Members

We have established strong governance for the Foundation, led by an experienced, diverse, skills-based Board and supported by a management team with experience in managing grant-making programs.
Dr Penny Browne

Dr Penny Browne is the Chief Medical Officer at Avant, advising the Senior Management Team on all clinical matters, and leading the team that advocates for Avant members to drive change in the medico legal environment. Penny is a general practitioner, and has worked extensively in General Practice education. She is currently a Senior Staff Specialist in General Practice at Hornsby Hospital, NSW.

Dr Matthew Doane

Dr Matthew Doane is a dual boarded and internationally trained Anaesthetist who is a member of both Diplomate of the American Board of Anesthesiology and Fellow of ANZCA. He is a Staff Specialist in the Department of Anaesthesia at the Royal North Shore Hospital and a Conjoint Senior Lecturer at the University of Sydney Medical School. Dr Doane has a strong interest in Clinical Research and Education.

Emeritus Professor Kim Oates AM

Professor Kim Oates is a paediatrician with long-standing clinical and research interests in child development, child behaviour, child protection and advocacy. He was the Foundation Douglas Burrows Professor of Paediatrics and Child Health, at the University of Sydney and was Chief Executive of the Children’s Hospital at Westmead. He has received a range of national and international awards and named lectureships, has written 15 books and over 300 published articles. An Emeritus Professor at the University of Sydney, he now teaches patient safety in several medical schools and is the Australian leader of the Academy for Emerging Leaders in Patient Safety where young clinicians meet with national and international experts to share ideas about improving the quality of patient care.

Professor Jonathan Morris

Professor Jonathan Morris is currently the Director of Research at the NSLHD and Kolling Institute which unites research and education with patient care and community wellbeing; Director of Biomedical and Health Informatics – Sydney Medical School; Maternal Fetal Medicine Specialist with an active clinical role in the management of women with high risk pregnancies, and has a special interest in supporting women who suffer the loss of a child through stillbirth. He has a keen interest in improving patient care, health service efficiency and enabling research through the use of data.

Associate Professor Julian Rait

Associate Professor Julian Rait is currently an Associate Professor in Ophthalmology at the University of Melbourne and is a member of a group ophthalmic practice. He has been involved in clinical research for 28 years and has published numerous articles and book chapters in refereed journals. Julian was a federal councillor of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists between 1995 and 2003, and has served on several Boards concerned with medical research and overseas aid. Julian was the Treasurer and Vice-Chairman of the Ophthalmic Research Institute of Australia between 1995 and 2003, and was a member of the Board of the RANZCO Eye Foundation between 2009 and 2011. Julian has also been the Chairman of Anglican Overseas Aid since 2012 (a fully accredited DFAT relief and development agency) and was made a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors in 2008. Julian’s service was acknowledged with the medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in the 2018 Australia Day Honours list for “service to Ophthalmology and to the development of International Aid”.

Dr Beverley Rowbotham

Associate Professor Beverley Rowbotham is a Director of AMGL, AGHL, AIL and DHF. She is Director of Haematology at Sullivan Nicolaides Pathology. She is the Chairman of the AMA Federal Council, Chair of the National Pathology Accreditation Advisory Committee and is a past President of the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia. Dr Rowbotham is an Associate Professor at the University of Queensland, and is a member of the MBS Review Taskforce and other government committees. Dr Rowbotham is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is a Director of RCPA Quality Assurance Programs Pty Limited, AEIOU Foundation for children with autism and Genome One.

Ms Julie Webster

Ms Julie Webster is the CEO, Financial Services at Avant. Julie was instrumental in the establishment of Avant’s Doctors in Training Scholarship program. Julie has extensive corporate experience on developing strategies and in leading teams focused on organisational growth, innovation, the customer experience and stakeholder engagement.